Goodbye Little Guy

This has been a very hard week for me. My little buddy, an approximatly 15- year old Yorkie mix we adopted about eight years ago, Morkie left us yesterday. It’s been hard for the entire family, even the other dogs, but these things always are. It was so fast and really unexpected as well, making harder on us but easier on him.

He had fought cancer about 2 1/2 years ago. The vet said he might make it another year after that; he made it nearly 2 1/2 so we had the gift of an extra eighteen months.

Near as I can tell from his symptoms and how it set onto him, he had a small stroke Thursday evening followed by a major one late Thursday night. He left us peacefully about 12:30 Friday afternoon.

I thank God for the companionship that He gave us and me with the Mork. I thank Him that was able to hold and comfort Mork, talk to and love on him a little while longer before he left us. I praise Him for all of this and for comforting and easing my pain during this period of grief. Though I can’t see it all now, I know His way of handling the situation was right and good. I know there is somoething more and good to come from it all, too.

My little buddy, you are and will be sadly missed. But the memories you made in our lives, mine particularly, will live on forever. I love you, Mork.

IMG_0168

One of the last photos of Morkie

 

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Little Guy

  1. Pingback: Morkie: Tanka Tribute | Potholes in the Road of Life

  2. Pingback: Goodnight Sweet Gypsy | Potholes in the Road of Life

Leave a Reply

