What Am I Able to Do?

I don’t know how many of you have dealt with chronic illnesses but they can surely be trying. I imagine that most reading this have had back pain, either sporadic or constant, at some point and as most of you know I have a lot of issues with my back.

Over time I have learned, mostly through “trial and error”, pretty much what I can do without irritating my back and what I should avoid. Even though I may know not to do some activity or thing I’ll often do it any way, paying the price later for my stubbornness.

1 Corinthians 10:13 says “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God [is] faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear [it].” God knows exactly what I can bare at all times. His Word tells me that He will never allow more than that, that He will be with me the entire time, and that all I need to do is trust and lean on Him to get through what ever storm I find myself in.

I may go ahead and do some thing that I know my back can’t take and I shouldn’t be doing. And in doing so I end up in more pain. But our God is faithful and He won’t do that. He will stretch us a little so we can grow and be more flexible but He will never takes us where we can’t go.

Leave a Reply

