In Season and Out

The Reformed Reader

 As a pastor, I have to preach the gospel week in and week out through the ups and downs of my own Christian life.  That’s one of many things that makes the ministry of the word a difficult calling. But I can stand behind the pulpit and preach the gospel even through the “downs” in my spiritual life because the gospel doesn’t depend upon my emotions, feelings, or experience.  These comments by J. Gresham Machenhave been a source of comfort and motivation for me in the ministry.  I trust all our readers will benefit from these words, though pastors will especially want to take note.

“I know that it is hard to live on the heights of Christian experience.  We have had flashes of the true meaning of the cross of Christ, but then comes long dull days.  What shall we do in those dull times?  Shall we…

View original post 366 more words

Leave a Reply

