Luke 6:31

And as you wish that others would do to you, do so to them. Luke 6:31

This familiar passage is often called “The Golden Rule” and is quoted “do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. It is a near and dear, fond memory that it stirs in my mind every time I read or hear it. You see, my Papaw told me, on more than one occasion, something like this, “Son, if you’ll treat the other feller the way you’d want him to treat you, think about how it would make you feel and do that, you won’t never go wrong at anything you do in your life”. That piece of advice has served me well in my life, just as Papaw said it would, in everything from family to business relationships. It was many years before it dawned on me that Papaw wasn’t just giving me save wisdom; he was teaching me from Scripture, Christ’s own words, practical life-lessons. A big part of my fondest memories revolve around or at least include to some degree my Papaw. I hope that I can impart some of his knowledge and character into the folks in my life. I think if I can they will be at least a little better off. And for what he has imparted to me I know I’m better for it.

2015/01/img_1256.jpg

Leave a Reply

