Hebrews 4:16

I ran across this today and found it rather thought provoking. 

Gleanings from the diary of Ruth Bryan

November 21st, 1830

While thinking this afternoon of some friends who have been running eagerly from one place to another after a celebrated, and, I suppose, most interesting preacher–this idea forcibly struck me: Why manifest such undue concern after streams, when we have the Fountain always accessible? I can, in my humble cottage, approach the footstool of the Father of mercies, and enjoy the manifestation of His love!

“My people have committed a double evil: They have abandoned Me, the fountain of living water, and dug cisterns for themselves–cracked cisterns that cannot hold water!” Jeremiah 2:13

I honestly don’t know if that verse was what she noted or if it was added by the author of the email-devotional I read. (The link to the text is included in the title of the piece if you’d like to look at it in depth.)  

I do know that what she is essentially saying, how we put so much emphasis on man and his presentation over the fact we can go to the source at will, is absolutely true and utterly amazing to me. As has been well said, “The more I learn about how amazing grace is the more amazing grace truly is!” And I’ll add this verse myself, as today’s daily verse.

Hebrews 4:16 “Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” 

 

5 thoughts on “Hebrews 4:16

  1. I’ve also heard/read that, because of Christ, we can go BOLDLY to the Throne of Grace–did wonders for my soul and spirit, that I don’t have to feel undeserving, slink into His Presence. God bless you and the fam today.

Leave a Reply

