Faith in Fear

Today I share not only the verse but the devotional content from The Gospel Daily. Click on their name if you’re interested in receiving a daily devotional from them. 

 

For I am the LORD, your God, who grasp your right hand; It is I who say to you, “Fear not, I will help you.” – Isaiah 41:13

 When God asks us to do something, our natural reaction will most likely be fear. Fear of the unknown, of rejection, of ridicule, of failure, the list goes on. It’s OK to be afraid. He never chastises anyone because they are afraid to do something that He asks of them. He will however, correct someone who runs away or disobeys Him. So today if you are standing at the edge of the cliff between obedience and self-preservation, take this verse to heart. Imagine that He is standing with you right there on that precipice. He takes your hand and says, “Remember child, I am the LORD your GOD. I am the one who is saying this to you and not anyone else: Don’t be afraid because I am the one who is helping you.” – Commentary by Sarine Thomas‏

Today’s Prayer:

Heavenly Father, you know I am afraid, but I trust in you. Help me to overcome my fear and step out in obedience to you. Amen.

As most of you may know last Friday Paris was the victim of a terrorist attack. Reports claim 139 people were killed, hundreds are in critical condition, and thousands impacted. Please take a moment and join us in prayer, as we prayer for everyone affected by this tragedy

One thought on “Faith in Fear

  1. This is so wonderful–relevant everyday, but especially in the wake of tragic world events yet again assaulting our peace. Here are my shares: John 12:46 “I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness”. Heb 13:5c “I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee”. NEVER is such a powerfully reassuring word in that context. God bless you and the family Abundantly. xxoo, Sis J

Leave a Reply

